Thursday, December 25, 2008

ANDREW JACKSON, 7TH PRESIDENT - Andrew Jackson became our seventh President on March 4, 1829. He was the first President to take the oath of office on the East Portico of the U.S. Capitol. Later, the White House was opened to the public for an inaugural celebration that included a huge wheel of cheese, and with the massive crowd destroying many of the furnishings of the White House.